“Little Soul” Patron Saint for 2016 (“Jubilee of Mercy”)

image

Soeur Gertrude-Marie (Sister Gertrude Mary) d. 1908 [This is a shot I took of the photo on her tomb in Angers, France, on December 26, 2015.]

(A quick word: I had an inspiring trip throughout Europe; I will write a little bit about it later. Thank you for your prayers!)

Patron Saint for 2016

Some of you will know of the holy tradition of choosing a patron saint for the year; perhaps some of you already have.

There is good reason to believe that we do not choose our “heavenly friends”; they choose us. This was the belief of Sr. Gertrude Mary, for example, and it is confirmed in the life of St. Faustina and many others.

The thought came to me recently to conduct a patron saint of the year selection of my own; but it will be somewhat unique. This patron saint program (if you could call it that) will include a selection OF “little souls” FOR “little souls.” In other words, the saints or holy souls that I will be choosing from will be little souls i.e. humble, childlike, confident souls…

We are all called to be “little  ones.” The saints are eager to help us; they want us to praise God with them, both here and hereafter. How eagerly must they desire to help us in this “Year of Mercy”, as proclaimed Providentially by Pope Francis I!

**How to Participate**

Simply leave your name (or initials, a pseudonym, or whatever you prefer) in the comments section, and I will announce the results tomorrow. You may leave several names if you wish to request a patron saint for several people.

I will pray very seriously before making these selections, which I will draw from a “hat.”

I encourage you to participate! The more, the merrier!

[Note: The “saints” that I will be choosing from are not necessarily canonized or Blessed etc. They have all been praised for their virtue, however, by many competent – and often holy – authorities. In no manner do I intend to undermine the authority and judgement of holy Mother Church.]

All you Saints and Angels, pray for us!

 

38 thoughts on ““Little Soul” Patron Saint for 2016 (“Jubilee of Mercy”)

  1. Ben would you want to read some beautiful reflections God has given to me during prayer time regarding the sorrowful mysteries? They are a combination of Spanish and English and rather lengthy so not appropriate for your website so if you say no, I surely understand

    >

  2. Thanks Ben, I WILL ask my spiritual director. He moved away and so we have been trying to address things, as they come up, over the phone. But I’m so emotional about this that I get tearful/ choked up and my priest/spiritual director is so hard of hearing, that the conversation when I have it will be a difficult one. I asked you because you have read about victims and physical suffering and would have an idea about how it went when doctors examined them.

    The scripture you posted was very helpful also. I found it in my Bible under seawrack chapter 38:1-4. It very much consoled me, and I thank you! Julie

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Dear Julie,

    Thanks be to God for your generous donation of self! I am very humbled that you would ask for my help in such an important matter.

    The first (and best) bit of advice I can offer you comes from the wisdom of the Church, namely, to share this with your confessor, and obey him; reveal your troubles with great simplicity, and God will address you through his minister, as he assures us through St. Faustina and others. As St. Alphonsus says: when we obey our confessor, we are assured of doing God’s will. Unless the priest’s advice is manifestly evil, then we have absolutely nothing to worry about.

    Whatever the nature or origin of your sufferings, there is no falsehood in submitting them to a doctor.

    ‘1. Honour the physician for the need thou hast of him: for the Most High hath created him. 2. For all healing is from God, and he shall receive gifts of the king. 3. The skill of the physician shall lift up his head, and in the sight of great men he shall be praised. 4. The Most High hath created medicines out of the earth, and a wise man will not abhor them.’ (Ecclesiasticus 1–4)

    Take St. Padre Pio, for example. Many of his sufferings were of “mystical origin”, and were subsequently a mystery to doctors, yet he humbly submitted himself to them for observation, treatment and study. It was perplexing to doctors how St. Padre Pio’s figure was – how shall I put it? – rotund, considering that he consumed only a few hundred calories per day. Doctors were likewise mystified by his extreme body temperature, which on at least one occasion caused a thermometer to break!

    I think you are safe in following the example of St. Padre Pio. But don’t fail to ask the advice of your confessor.

    As to the expensive treatments, I cannot say what would be the best course of action. But I will keep you in my prayers, asking Jesus and Mary to give you light.

    Pax Domine!

    Ben

  4. I am a devote Catholic from the Philippines. Please give us a short article of Saint Gemma Galgani. Thank you so much.

  5. Hey Ben, just a question. You have read about all the “little souls” that suffer because it was the will of God. There is a caveat for me.

    When, in honoring the fifth commandment, I see neurologists and physical therapists, I find myself extremely conflicted. I am also applying for disability in order to receive Medicare benefits. (Unless I have a record of medical care, there is no Medicare for me. Financially I can’t do without it).

    So here’s the rub. I know in my spirit that I asked Jesus to be a victim soul for Him. I did ask for this present “suffering” which wraps me up 24 hours a day. I asked God to help Him save souls.

    So, when I see a physician I am very conflicted. I know why my body is rapidly deteriorating but they can’t figure it out. If the suffering were to stop, which it could, if God so desires, I would feel extreme relief as well as extreme sadness.

    In short, I have a duty to take care of my health, and want to get well, but only if that is God’s divine will. So I find myself: -going to physicians to find out what is wrong with me, and trying to get better -while having no expectation of getting better. It feels like a lie.

    This has caused me so much emotional pain, as I am a very honest person. If I could, I would never go to another doctor again and simply submit. But that is not a choice. My reality is that I have to continue to see physicians for disability determination. My insurance costs $1200 a month and Medicare would be perhaps half of that.

    I have asked God to take care of everything. But, what I have mentioned is worse than physical suffering. I asked for this and I am now going to physicians who are doing all kinds of expensive tests trying to figure out what is happening to my body. If I were to even mention peep about “redemptive suffering” they would think I am a hypochondriac making myself sick. I am not. My husband, caretaker, is my soulmate. He hears me moaning in my sleep. I have asked him if he thinks if I tried just a little harder I could get better? He just laughs and shakes his head “no”. But Satan gets in my ear every day, every night “you are a liar!”

    Your thoughts?

    Julie

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  6. Dear Julie,

    I am very pleased to hear of this happy “coincidence.” Yvonne-Aimee, a close friend of St. Therese (although they did not know each other as earthly friends), is a friend of “little souls.” I am confident that she will help you a great deal.

    Thank you so much for your prayers. My name is Ben.

    Pax Domine!

  7. Hey Julie – no problem at all!

    ‘I live in the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and delivered himself for me.’ (Gal. 2:20). They are powerful words, aren’t they!

    The desire for holiness is a grace of inestimable value. The more you love God, the holier you will become.

    “This firm resolution to become a saint is extremely pleasing to Me. I bless your efforts and will give you opportunities to sanctify yourself. Be watchful that you lose no opportunity that My providence offers you for sanctification. If you do not succeed in taking advantage of an opportunity, do not lose your peace, but humble yourself profoundly before Me and, with great trust, immerse yourself completely in My mercy. In this way, you will gain more than you have lost, because more favour is granted to a humble soul than the soul itself asks for…” (Jesus to St. Faustina, Diary, 1361).

    Thank you for your kind and thoughtful response.

    Take care and God bless.

  8. I can already feel her helping me. You did not know my devotion to the Eucharist. You did not know my devotion to the Divine Will. You did not know that I have been told I am to pray in particular for priests. You did not know that each day for 2 to 4 hours I lay before the Eucharist. You did not know that I I am very concerned about being sacrilegious toward the Eucharist. You did not know that every Tuesday and Friday are my days are devoted to prayer for all priest. She is a perfect Patron Saint. She’s already helping me. You did not tell me your name, so that I can know who I am praying for besides the webmaster for littlest souls. God bless you.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  9. Thank you for your kindness to me! Yes! I will pray for you. I will pray that God will bless you, both now, and in eternity, with an overwhelming awareness of His fondness for you because of your concern for His “little souls”. We little souls are often found in seclusion, in hidden corners. Therefore, any expression of love, from the One whom we so diligently seek to serve, through another human being, such as yourself, is indeed a treasure. No matter how many times I behold the cross, I find it’s still hard to believe His death was for love of me, individually. Then, I see with what great care you crafted your response, and could feel His love in each word. Thank you!! I do know I want to be a saint, but only have the courage to be a saint with a little “s”. Thank you for your website. I’ve gained great strength for the task at hand from your work. Thank you for my new patron saint! God bless you!. Julie

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  10. Hi Julie 🙂

    Sorry to hear about your troubles. I will pray for you; please pray for me, also.

    St. Joseph is an excellent patron Saint. Of course, we can have several patrons.

    After a prayer to the Holy Spirit and the Saints, I selected a patron for you. I was very pleased with the result. Your new Heavenly friend for 2016 is Yvonne-Aimee of Jesus. This is quite fitting, for several reasons. Yvonne-Aimee suffered much throughout her life – much like St. Padre Pio – but she learnt priceless lessons about the value of suffering united to love. It often happened that drops of her blood would turn into beautiful roses or other flowers, giving us to know that when suffering is accepted with love, it bears incredible fruits, and is a perfume pleasing to Almighty God. This consoling doctrine is confirmed in the revelations of Bl. Catherine of Racconigi, to whom Our Lord appeared, showing her a very beautiful crown of roses. He said to her: “All afflictions will appear as roses to you if you bear them with good will.” Yvonne-Aimee’s life embodies this message.

    Furthermore, Our Lord revealed a beautiful and extremely powerful prayer to Yvonne-Aimee in 1922. This prayer has been indulgenced by several Popes. The prayer is: “O Jesus, King of Love, I put my trust in Thy loving mercy!” I can attest to the power of this prayer, which has brought me much light, grace and joy. It is powerful.

    Jesus said to Yvonne-Aimee: “Accept the trials that will be sent to you, as the greatest grace given to souls I love. Accept them uncomplainingly without seeking to understand or to know how long they are to last. Do not boast of them or pay heed to mortifications or humiliations that come. Look at Me. I love you; what more do you want?” (Taken from p. 30 of ‘No Need for Surprise’)

    Take care and God bless.

    Pax Domine!

  11. I am having a very hard time right now being disabled with constant pain. it is hard to pray, and my mind is confused and depressed. I could use a “heavenly push” in the right direction. Mostly I am asking for fortitude and perseverance with joy. st. Joseph is my patron saint. But I do believe we are allowed more than one friend on the other side. Thank you for your patron saint project. And all that you do. It greatly encourages me. Thank you Julie

  12. Nick: Sr. Yvonne-Aimee
    Kimmi: Sr. Jeanne Benigne Gojos
    Bethany: Ven. Marthe Robin
    Gabby: Fr. Paul of Moll
    Liam: St. Francis de Sales
    Naomi: Bl. Elizabeth of the Trinity

    No worries!

  13. Could I also ask for saints for the following too please. They are: Nick, Kimmi, Bethany, Gabby, Liam and Naomi. Many, Many, thanks!!

  14. Dear friends,

    Firstly, if anyone would still like to participate: you are most welcome. I will continue with the selection or another few days.

    Okay. For those who have commented: thank you for your kind words and/or for participating! Here are the results, starting with the first comment:

    Lisa H: St. Therese

    Rebecca: Bl. Elizabeth of the Trinity

    Shelley: St. Faustina

    Tommy: Bl. Dom Columba Marmion

    Kelly: St. John Paul II
    Catherine: Bl. Mother Teresa
    Denise: Bl. Dom Columba Marmion

    Maryann: Sr. Benigna Consolata Ferrero

    Josie: Sr. Benigna Consolata Ferrero

    ES: Ven. Marthe Robin
    KP: Pope St. John Paul II
    BU: Sr. Jeanne Benigne Gojos
    JF: Sr. Mary of the Holy Trinity
    RB: St. Padre Pio
    LS: St. Francis de Sales
    TR: Sr. Gertrude Mary
    RR: St. Therese
    JC: St. Gemma Galgani
    AR: Sr. Mary of the Holy Trinity
    KN: St. Crescentia Hoess
    MN: Sr. Mary of the Holy Trinity
    GN: Fr. Paul of Moll
    YN: Sr. Josefa Menendez
    BN: Pope St. John Paul II
    KR: Sr. Gertrude Mary
    JR: Bl. Dom Columba Marmion
    NR: Ven. Marthe Robin

    Deo gratias! Get to know your heavenly friend! A few of these holy souls are lesser known. Try archive.org for Sister Gertrude Mary, Sr. Jeanne Benigne Gojos, Sr. Benigna Consolata, and Fr. Paul of Moll.

    Offer at least one Mass in thanksgiving to your new patron and to God. St. Gertrude assures us that this is most pleasing to God and His saints.

    Jesus, I trust in You!

  15. I would like to participate and will pray with you that my”little soul” will help me on my journey to heaven..thank you

  16. Hi…I am glad you safely made it back and had a great time in Europe, been there and liked it….I like your idea of receiving this type of Saint for this year, especially as I believe that the first date of Garabandal will happen in October 2016 as the second date is April 13, 2017, and by the end of this year everything and everyone on Earth will be completely changed by the Divine wake up call coming….Thanks…Tommy

Leave a Reply

