A SURE Way to Be Happy.

A SURE Way to Be Happy.

Image: Blessed Charles de Foucauld, who lived a very simple, austere and charitable life.

Be Holy. More specifically, be GENEROUS with God. God desires to fill us with Himself (Who is perfect love, peace and joy), but we must empty ourselves of earthly attachments and self-will. The following words, I hope, will encourage you to be very generous with God:

+ Jesus to Bl. Charles de Foucauld: “Think of the unending good fortune I brought you in My birth: the ability to serve Me—to serve Me by serving your neighbour, to serve Me Myself, living there near you in the tabernacle. Not only can you serve Me, you can also console Me.” (Charles de Foucauld’s conversion story is very beautiful and inspiring!)

+ “I suffered much in My Passion, much more than was strictly necessary, but there was a reason for that excess of suffering. Therefore let there be no limit to your generosity; is it that which will feed your love and increase your strength, it is that which will unfailingly draw down My gifts, because I AM NEVER OUTDONE BY GENEROSITY.” – Jesus to Sr. Mary of the Trinity

+ “Oh, how full I am of compassion! and how I desire -I need- the generosity of some to make reparation for others. It is love that makes reparation.” – Jesus to Sr. Mary of the Trinity

“A little act of generosity, of patience, of poverty . . . may become treasure that will win a great number of souls to My Heart . . .” – Jesus to Sr. Josefa Menendez, August 7, 1922

“When a soul is generous enough to give Me all I ask, she gathers up treasures for herself and others and snatches great numbers of souls from perdition.” – Jesus to Sr. Josefa Menendez

(Please pray, dear friend, that I may overcome my selfishness and self-seeking. An ‘Our Father’ for this intention would be greatly appreciated. You are in my prayers.)

+ Salesian lay brother from Nazareth: “What is your secret, Brother Charles?”
Brother Charles (Bl. Charles de Foucauld): “THE MORE I GIVE, THE MORE HAPPINESS I FOUND!”

