To Inspire You With Love: “For THEE I was made man…” (Jesus to St. Mechtilde)

“His Heart is simple as that of a dove. It never changes in its feelings of goodness for man, even though he is so often unfaithful.”

– St. Mechtilde

(Taken from ‘The Love of the Sacred Heart’, p. 131):

Too often those who profess piety are lukewarm and feel no love; but the love of the divine Heart is always unchangeable and burning for us. To inspire us with an absolute confidence in His Sacred Heart, Jesus gives us through Mechtilde this admirable lesson:

“I will teach thee three things on which thou mayst meditate each day. Thou shalt gain great profit from them;

(i) In returning thanks to Me, remember the graces prepared for thee in the Creation and Redemption. I created thee to My own image and likeness. For thee I was made man, and after countless torments for the love of thee suffered a most bitter death.

(2) Remember with gratitude the benefits I have bestowed on thee, from thy birth to this present moment. By a choice grace I called thee from the world; many times I have lowered Myself to thy soul; I have filled and inebriated it with My grace; I have enlightened it with knowledge and inflamed it with love; every day I come to thee ready to fulfil thy desires and will.

(3) Remember with praise and thanksgiving the great gifts I am prepared to bestow on thee in heaven; the greatest riches, far beyond what thou canst believe or realize, all that thou desirest shall be there.”

“Have an ardent desire to be a child of the love of Jesus. The love of Jesus is a great treasure beyond comparison.” – Fr. Paul of Moll (Benedictine “wonderworker” and “incorruptible”)

