Humility Will Set You Free!

“Humility is truth…” (St. Padre Pio)

“… the Truth will set you free” (John 8:32)

Therefore humility will set you free.

(If this post contains more admonishments, it is for our own good!)

This post is addressed to the following: to those who get discouraged; to those who are cold or lukewarm; to those who are in any way attached to venial sin; to those who haven’t adopted the habit of mental prayer; to those who distrust God and pray half-heartedly… to all! Let me share something very briefly from my own experience: the remedy for discouragement, scruples, vice, sadness, doubts, distrust (etc.) is humility (of course I am still not humble, but God has revealed many liberating truths to me)! Of course it is God Who brings this about; nevertheless, without humility we cannot receive God’s gifts (“God resists the proud” -James 4:6).

Here are some MAXIMS to help you see the value of humility (which we MUST pray for every day; for example, by saying ‘Jesus, meek and humble of Heart, make my heart like unto Thine.’):

+ Humility reaps mercy; pride reaps justice: “… as long as thou remainest engulfed in thy nothingness- and it is this which attracts to thee so many graces- I shall be to thee always a God of goodness, a God of mercy, a God of love; by the day in which thou art elated by pride, I shall become to thee a God of justice. I tell this not to frighten thee, but to warn thee, because I love thee so tenderly.” – Jesus to Sr. Benigna Consolata (“The reason God is such a great lover of humility is that He is a great lover of truth. Humility is, in fact, truth, while pride is nothing but lying.” – St. Vincent de Paul)

“It is only by the measure of thy humility that thou canst hope to please God and save thyself, because it is certain that God ‘will save the humble of spirit.'” – Fr. Cajetan

+ “There is no way that conducts more directly, more securely, more swiftly, and more sweetly to God than humility. But it is the humility studied in the Gospel, humility learned in My life, humility profoundly taught in the Holy Eucharist. If thou seek humility in these three sources, thou wilt ever find it.” – Jesus to Sr. Benigna Consolata

+ The more humble we are, the more we receive: “When there is humility, I give; when I find more, I give more…” – Jesus to Sr. Benigna Consolata

+ “… pride is the beginning of all sin.'” [Ecclus. x, 15] “If we examine all our falls into sin, whether venial or grave, the cause will always be found in some hidden pride…” – Fr. Cajetan

To overcome sin, we must distrust ourselves and trust God: “He… fills with His grace those hearts which are emptied of self– that is to say, which have neither self-esteem nor self-confidence and do not rely upon their own strength.” – Fr. Cajetan

+ Humility makes the practise of virtue easy: “Impregnate yourself with humility, and you will soon find that all other virtues will follow without any effort on your part.” – Fr. Cajetan

+ Humility is necessary for salvation: “… in Paradise there is no saint who was not humble.” – Fr. Cajetan

+ Pride begets frustration, anger, agitation: “The heart of the proud man is like a stormy sea, never at rest: ‘Like the raging sea which cannot rest [Isa. lvii, 20] … The more the heart is filled with self-love, so much the greater will be its anxiety and agitation. This maxim is indeed true; for whenever I feel myself inwardly irritated, disturbed and angered by some adversity which has befallen me, I need not look elsewhere for the cause of such feelings than within myself, and I should always do well to say: If I were truly humble I should not be disquieted. My great agitation is an evident proof which ought to convince me that my self-love is great and dominant and powerful within me, and is the tyrant which torments and gives me no peace. If I feel aggrieved by some sharp word that has been said to me, or by some discourtesy shown me, from whence does this feeling of pain proceed? From my pride alone. Oh, if I were truly humble, what calm, what peace and happiness would my soul not enjoy! And this promise of Jesus Christ is infallible: ‘Learn of Me, because I am meek and humble of heart, and you shall find rest to your souls.'” [Matt. xi, 29] – Fr. Cajetan

+ Humility begets happiness, gratitude, peace, virtue, love: “… the heart of the humble is fully content in its humility—–‘Rich in his being low’ [James i, 10]—–and is always calm and tranquil and without fear that anything in this world should disturb him, and shall ‘rest with confidence.'” [Isa. xiv, 30] – Fr. Cajetan

+ “Humility is the foundation of all the other virtues hence, in the soul in which this virtue does not exist there cannot be any other virtue except in mere appearance.” – St. Augustine

+ Temptations are for our own good: “When I permit temptation, it is not through cruelty, but to give the soul an opportunity of merit.” (“God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that which you are able (to bear).” – 1 Corinthians 10:13. To reach Heaven it is necessary to love God… How else can we show we love God but by doing His will and combatting sin?)

+ God is infinitely merciful: “The mercy of God is infinite and never refuses to forgive sinners.” – Jesus to Sr. Josefa Menendez

+ God is infinitely just: “… for all his works are truth, and his ways justice; and those that walk in pride he is able to abase.” (Daniel 4:37) In our day and age, there is too much ignorance about the nature of sin. But without this knowledge, we cannot be humble. Mortal sin truly deserves everlasting punishment because it is infinitely opposed to God’s goodness- as hard as that is for us to comprehend (we can always be forgiven of such sins, of course). Only when we know and believe this can we be truly grateful for God’s mercy; truly humbled that God still loves us infinitely; truly distrustful of our own ‘capacity’ to overcome sin without the aid of God’s grace etc. Knowledge of God’s justice, rather than frightening us, should make us happy and thankful. Think of how much God loves us! Think of the Heaven which awaits those who are humble! You will see how lamentable pride is when you think, for example, of how unjust it is for us to give in to discouragement; God died for us; He underwent such cruel sufferings to liberate us from the bonds of sin, and we have the pride to get discouraged when we offend Him?! … “So you have failed? You have not failed: you have gained experience. Forward!” – St. Josemaria Escriva

+ “Without Me you can do nothing” (John 15:5). We cannot do a single good thing without God’s grace. This truth applies to every individual, whether or not they know it. No, we cannot be “good without God.”

+ God, Who is Truth, is the source of all humility:

“I POSSESS HUMILITY FOR YOUR PRIDE.”

– Jesus to Sr. Josefa Menendez

