God’s Nature is to Give.

“The graces of My mercy are  drawn by means of one vessel only, and that is trust. The more a soul  trusts, the more it will receive. Souls that trust boundlessly are a  great comfort to Me, because I pour all the treasures of My graces into  them. I rejoice that they ask for much, because it is my desire to give  much, very much. On the other hand, I am sad when souls ask for little,  when they narrow their hearts.” – Jesus to St. Faustina (Diary 1578).

“I never refuse Love to someone who asks for it…” – Jesus to Sr. Mary of the Trinity

“But My love will sustain you and never shall I fail you.” – Jesus to Sr. Josefa Menendez

“My grace will never fail you.” – Jesus to Sr. Josefa Menendez

“Place no limits on your confidence in Me, then I will place no limit on My graces for you!” – Jesus to Sr. Consolata Betrone

“If you wish to please Me, trust in Me…” – Jesus to Sr. Benigna Consolata  

St. Mary Magdalene of Pazzi said, “that when we ask graces of God, He not only hears us, but in a certain sense thanks us.” Yes, because God, as the infinite goodness, in wishing to pour out Himself upon others, has, so to speak, an infinite longing to distribute his gifts; but He wishes to be besought: hence it follows, that when He sees Himself entreated by a soul, He receives so much pleasure, that in a certain sense He thanks that soul for it.-St. Alphonsus

…”But,” someone may say, “I am a sinner, and do not deserve to be heard.” But Jesus Christ says, Every one that asketh, receiveth. [Luke, xi. 10.] Everyone, be he just, or be he a sinner. St. Thomas teaches us that the efficacy of prayer to obtain graces does not depend on our merits, but on the mercy of God, Who has promised to hear everyone who prays to Him.” [2. 2, q. 178, a. 2.] And our Redeemer, in order to remove from us all fear when we pray, said: Amen, amen, I say to you, if you shall ask the Father anything in My name, He will give it you. [John, xvi. 23.] As though He would say: Sinners, you have no merits of your own to obtain graces, wherefore do in this manner; when you would obtain graces, ask them of My Father in My name; that is, through My merits and through My love; and then ask as many as you choose, and they shall be granted to you. But let us mark well those words, “In My name;” which signify (as St. Thomas explains it), “in the name of the Saviour;” or, in other words, that the graces which we ask must be graces which regard our eternal salvation; and consequently we must remark that the promise does not regard temporal favours; these our Lord grants, when they are profitable for our eternal welfare; if they would prove otherwise, He refuses them. So that we should always ask for temporal favors, on condition that they will benefit our soul. But should they be spiritual graces, then they require no condition; but with confidence, and a sure confidence, we should say: “Eternal Father, in the name of Jesus Christ deliver me from this temptation: grant me holy perseverance, grant me Thy love, grant me Heaven.” We can likewise ask these graces of Jesus Christ in His Own name; that is, by His merits, since we have His promise also to this effect: If you shall ask Me anything in My name, that I will do. [John, xiv. 14.]” – St. Alphonsus Liguori

   

 

